Caffeine

January 9, 2009

The 2007 WADA list has caffeine in the “2007 Monitoring Program” but it is not a “Prohibited Substance”. The 2007 US AntiDopingAgency (USADA) list seems to directly quote the WADA list on stimulants, so ditto. It used to be one of the threshold substances (under 12 micrograms/ml of urine and you were OK) but was delisted as of Jan 1, 2004.

HA! I just noticed this draft from 11/30/07! Dang if I can remember where I was going with it, just a stub and all. Reminded me about something over at Zuska’s diggity dogs. Caffeine really is a drug. Gee ya think?

no longer quite the n00b scicurious recently had something about adenosine and caffeine so I’ll just point you there for the science.

one of PalMD’s podcasts ( I think it was #2 or #4 but I could be wrong) talked about the wonders of coffee and how medicine can’t really find much to worry about. Sure, save the addiction part.

Anyway, I’ll just snap this up in case it jogs my memory of what I was thinking about. Probably some papers on cycling performance I guess….

oooooooo. pretty.

January 9, 2009

ooopretty.jpg

Read the rest of this entry »

Blog Jones

January 9, 2009

Unless you’ve been living under a rock* you will be aware of the upcoming SB blackout. Well, freeze-down might be a better term. We’ll still be here** but everything will be static. No posting, no commenting.
You might think this would be an opportune time for the Science Blogsters to take a little TO, catch up on real life business, maybe write a paper or something. You’d be wrong.
So after you have finished perusing the blogs on our blogroll (no, really, go click on three you haven’t ever looked at) and found all the low profile gems out there like Lou and Thomas and Matt, here’s a little hint.
Apparently the lions will be laying down with the lambs over at PhysioProf. That’s right, rumour has it that Greg Laden hissowndamnself may make an appearance. I think they’re just pulling my leg but perhaps the Oracular one as well. It is not the Rapture***.
The final strategy to get you through your unbearable longing is to snoop around the About pages and sidebars of your favorite bloggers to locate their original, pre-assimilation blogsites. DrugMonkey on WordPress, for example. If I have anything new, it’ll prolly show up there.
See you in the brave new world of SB on Movable Type 4.
__
*read only this blog under the Science Blogs banner
**promiseth the tech OverLordzzz
***I really, really, really hope…..? Gulp.

The Great Sb Freeze Out

January 9, 2009

As noted all over Teh ScienceBlogs, there will be a little technical difficulty starting, oh, in a minute or two. Actually, I think the comments are borked already. So consider this a welcome to the old blog for my newer readers, poke around in the archives because there is some stuff that I haven’t bothered to repost.

Go back to the early days and see how unbelievably polite PhysioProf was as a commenter. What a sneaky bastard!

Check out the original fight with Ms. Phd and her disgruntle-minions!

Watch me piss off a subGlamour Editor!

Even more grant geekery!