The woman wrote it you know.

January 29, 2014

Although I always knew his sister Peggy wrote this song, I have always had the Pete Seeger version of this in my head. I’m not the only one, either. And that’s just kind of blazingly ironic isn’t it? anyway, Peggy Seeger’s famous anthem performed by Peggy Seeger

3 Responses to “The woman wrote it you know.”

  1. gingerest Says:

    In high school, a girlfriend of mine played the Peggy Seeger version for me on vinyl. It’s always been an anthem in female voice to me. She was blacklisted in the 1950s, too. Her eulogy for Pete is on the front page of her website: http://www.peggyseeger.com/

    Like

  2. Neuro-conservative Says:

    What a charming and delightful totalitarian!

    Like

  3. becca Says:

    On the one hand, many of Pete’s song I love most in others voices- nothing wrong with folk singers doing their thing. On the other hand, the more common version on the Midnight Special was always Peggy, so that’s what I grew up listening to. I think this is just another sign you weren’t raised right (in the sociopolitical sense).

    Like


Leave a comment