ResearchGate “confirmation” of citations? WTF?

February 19, 2014

ResearchGate is, as you are undoubtedly aware, the latest and most annoying version of “The Facebook/LinkedIn for Scientists™”.

I just noticed that they have some sort of request for you to “confirm” that your publication indeed cited their publication.

What POSSIBLE goal does this serve? I mean, just look at the damn paper! Did it cite yours? Yes/No. Done.

4 Responses to “ResearchGate “confirmation” of citations? WTF?”

  1. mtomasson Says:

    I guess this is a technique to get you engaged with the site. Hey scientist…don’t you want to make sure citations are happening correctly?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. dr24hours Says:

    It took me 40 seconds to decide I would not have a ResearchGate profile.

    Like

  3. Dave Says:

    Yeh I tried ResearchGate for a week or two, but it was horrible. I’ve seen a few decent methodological discussions on there, but nothing that I can’t find on other forums.

    Like

  4. clueless noob Says:

    So far it seems like ResearchGate is for the really, really lazy. Most of the questions I’ve seen could be answered with a Google Scholar search.

    Like


Leave a Reply

